About Us

British Columbia enjoys a rich and vibrant work history. Workers, employers, and unions all played their part in the growth of Canada’s western –most province. This history has been at times celebrated, but seldom in a sustained way, and never from the unique perspective of B.C.’s working people. Recognizing the vital contributions of governments and industries, as well as the risks investors took when opening doors of opportunity, the BC Labour Heritage Centre concentrates on the women and men from all ethnic backgrounds who have walked through those doors and made an immeasurable social and economic contribution to building, and sustaining, British Columbia.

This history is not only ours, here in B.C.  It is also the historical development of Canada, Canadian society, and North American economy. It is the voice of those who came before us, their struggles and vision of the future, from the perspective of workers.


Ken Novakowski, Chair
Joey Hartman, Vice-Chair
Al Cornes, Secretary-Treasurer

Irene Lanzinger
Andy Neufeld
Amber Hockin
Michelle Laurie
Brooke Sundin
Mike Clarke

Robin Folvik


Benjamin Anderson
Marie Franco
Gerry Watson
Ruby Best
Donna Sacuta

Founding Chair

J.J. (Jack) Munro, Chair