The BC Labour Heritage Centre Society was founded in 2004 with JJ (Jack) Munro as Chair.  The Society preserves, documents and presents the rich history of working people in British Columbia.  The Society engages in partnerships and projects that help define and express the role that work and workers have played in the evolution of social policy and its impact on the present and future shaping of the province.


Ken Novakowski, Chair
Past President (retired), BC Teachers’ Federation
Joey Hartman, Vice Chair
President, Vancouver & District Labour Council
Al Cornes, Treasurer Retired teacher
Mike Clarke
Executive Vice President, BC Government Employee & Services Union
Johanna den Hertog
Retired labour and community activist
Bob Dhaliwal
Treasurer, International Longshore Workers Union (Canada)
Aaron Ekman
Secretary-Treasurer, BC Federation of Labour
Amber Hockin
Director of Operations, Movement of United Professionals
Michelle Laurie
Staff Representative, United Steelworkers
Lee Loftus
Business Agent, Insulators Local 118
Karen Ranalletta
General Vice President, Canadian Union of Public Employees BC Division
Brooke Sundin
President (retired), United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Local 1518
Annette Toth
Vice President, Movement of United Professionals


Donna Sacuta
Executive Director
Bailey Garden
Project Manager


Click to see our Sponsors

Download a copy of our 2016 Annual Report